2010-11 Farmingdale State Athletic Banquet Highlights

2010-11 Farmingdale State Athletics Banquet Highlights

- Zino, Curtis and Hubschmitt Named Athletes of the Year -

Farmingdale, N.Y. – The 2010-11 Farmingdale State College Athletic Banquet was held at the Huntington Hilton in Melville, N.Y. on Tuesday, May 3rd, 2011. The banquet hosted over 250 student-athletes, fans and friends of Farmingdale State Athletics, who are excited to recap all of the team and individual accomplishments throughout the year. The featured awards included the Alumni Association Male and Female Athlete of the Year, the Chancellor’s Scholar-Athlete Awards, the President's Award (for outstanding team), the Provost Award (for highest team GPA) and the Gerry Allard Service Award.



 Each year the Alumni Association, in conjunction with the Athletic Department administration, choose a male and female athlete of the year, who have achieved excellence within their sport(s). This year's recipients were Miss Hope Zino, Mr. Kevin Curtis and Mr. Wes Hubschmitt.

The most dominating pitcher in school history, Hope Zino, has been named Skyline Pitcher of the Year in each of her three seasons at Farmingdale State.

During her freshman year, she led Farmingdale to their first ever Skyline Conference Championship and an appearance at the NCAA Regionals. That year she was 16-3 with seven shutouts, 165 strikeouts and a 1.38 earned run average. Last season, she continued her dominance with a 15-6 record, seven shutouts and a 2.11 ERA. Capping off a brilliant three year run, she was named the MVP of the Conference Tournament this past weekend, leading her team to another Skyline Championship and a bid to the NCAA Regionals, to be held next week. This season to date, she set school records in wins (20), lowest ERA (1.20), shutouts (10-3rd in the nation), strikeouts (178) and strikeouts per game (9.52). She currently is the school career record holder in lowest ERA, strikeouts, strikeouts per game, shutouts and lowest opponents batting average.

Hope also holds a 3.26 cumulative grade point average and is a Nursing major.

Kevin Curtis has led the baseball team to four straight conference championships including an appearance in his sophomore year at the 2009 College World Series in Appleton, Wisconsin. During that year, he batted .407 and set school records in hits (55), RBI’s (44) and putouts (252) and was named the 2009 Skyline Player of the Year, First Team All-Region for the ABCA/Rawlings Team and received ECAC Metro First Team honors.

In 2010, he led his team to another conference championship and was named All-Conference for the second straight year. In 2011, he saved his best for last as he was named the Most Valuable Player of the Skyline Tournament after the Rams won three straight playoff games and qualified for the upcoming Regionals to be held May 18-22.

He batted over .300 every year in his career and was also a gold glove defensive standout from his first base position. He will leave Farmingdale State as the school record holder with the most hits, RBI’s, putouts and games played and ranks in the top-5 in eight other categories.

Kevin currently has a grade point average over 3.0 and will be graduating this year with a degree in Technology Studies.

Before Wes Hubschmitt's outstanding career at Farmingdale State College, he was a two year starter and member of the 2008 National Championship lacrosse team at Nassau Community College. At the National Championship, he was named to the All-Tournament Team as Nassau CC defeated Onondaga Community College.

After transferring to Farmingdale State in 2009, he made an immediate impact on the men’s lacrosse program as he led the team in points with 79 and was ranked fifth in the nation in assists per game. His 79 points broke the school record at Farmingdale State and he was named Second Team All-Skyline Conference after leading the Rams into the Skyline Conference Playoffs.

This past season, he led the team to an undefeated 6-0 conference record and a first-ever number one seed for the Skyline Conference Championship Tournament. Although the Rams fell in the Championship game to Montclair State, this individual is one of the main reasons that Farmingdale State men’s lacrosse is once again an elite program. This year he led the team for the second straight year in points and also led the team in assists and ground balls. He will leave Farmingdale as the all-time leader in points per game. To cap off his outstanding season, he was named the 2011 Skyline Conference Player of the Year.

Wes will be graduating in December with a degree in Technology Studies.



The President’s Award is given from the preceding year's performance, so all teams are allowed to finish their respective season. The award for best overall team performance in 2009-10 was the Men's Golf Team.

Congratulations to the men's golf team for posting their best finish at the 2010 Nationals in school history.


Each year one team receives the Team Achievement Award, which is the team with the highest cumulative grade point average. For the 2010-11 academic year, the Team Achievement Award went to the Women's Volleyball Team.


Also this year, four student-athletes received the 2011 Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award from the State University of New York's Chancellor.

The Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award was created to recognize outstanding academic excellence and outstanding athletic achievement. Recipients were selected after a thorough review of their credentials and accomplishments by athletic directors from across the State University System.

This year's winners from Farmingdale State were: Terrence Bohonan (Baseball, 3.48 GPA) and Justine Rothar (Women's Lacrosse, 3.65 GPA).



Each coach awards a Most Valuable Player for their exceptional contributions on the field, course, track or court. This years' MVP winners were:

Men’s Soccer - Mat Arthurs

Women’s Soccer - Katrina Cerverizzo

Men’s Cross Country - Sean Tiernan

Women’s Cross Country - Mary Orobona

Men’s Golf - Adam Larkin

Men’s Tennis - Christian Bormann

Women’s Tennis - Regina Cane

Men’s Basketball - Joshua Smith

Women’s Basketball - Nikita Green

Men’s Indoor Track - Qasim Ellis

Women’s Indoor Track - Corine Magee

Volleyball - Holly Sahner

Men’s Lacrosse - Wes Hubschmitt

Women’s Lacrosse - Chelsea Bjornsson

Baseball - Terrence Bohonan

Softball - Hope Zino

Men’s Outdoor Track - Gregory Denis

Women’s Outdoor Track - Faustine Chukwuezi


For more pictures of the 2010-11 Athletics Banquet....CLICK HERE