Rams Headed to Newark, NY for NCAA's

Rams Headed to Newark, NY for NCAA's

- Fifty-six teams selected for 2014 Division III Baseball tournament -

Brackets:  Printable  /  Interactive  /  Newark Regional Website with Ticket/Directions/Other Info 

Indianapolis, Inc. - The NCAA Division III Baseball committee announced the 56 teams that will compete in the 2014 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. Six teams will compete at four regional sites and eight teams will compete at four regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. 40 conference champions qualified automatically.

The winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination Division III Baseball College World Series at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, May 23-27.

After winning their 7th straight Skyline Championship, the Farmingdale State baseball team (25-11) has been seeded #5 in the Newark Regional hosted by Ithaca College at Colburn Park in Newark, N.Y.

The Rams will face #4 Rutgers-Camden on Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. in the opening game. Rutgers-Camden, who are ranked #29 in the most recent ABCA Division III Poll, advanced to the Regionals with an at-large bid and are making a first-ever trip to the NCAA's.

In addition to the Scarlet Raptors and the Rams, the rest of the regional includes top-seeded SUNY Cortland, No. 2 Kean University, No. 3 Amherst College, No. 6 Stevens, No. 7 Union College and No. 8 Castleton State College.

Colburn Park is home to the Newark Pilots of the Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League. Tournament games will be scheduled for 10 a.m., 1:15 p.m., 4:30 p.m. and 7:45 p.m. on each of the first three days of the event, from Wednesday, May 14 through Friday, May 16. Saturday's games will begin at 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. and Sunday's game will begin at 1 p.m. if necessary.



May 14-18

Hosted by Piedmont, Demorest, Georgia
1. Shenandoah
2. Emory
3. Birmingham Southern
4. Bridgewater (Va.)
5. Rhodes
6. Covenant

Hosted by Linfield, McMinnville, Oregon
1. Linfield
2. Cal Lutheran
3. Trinity (Texas)
4. Wisconsin-Stevens Point
5. Illinois Wesleyan
6. LeTourneau

Hosted by Augustana (Ill.), Moline, Illinois
1. Webster
2. St. Thomas (Minn.)
3. Buena Vista
4. St. Scholastica
5. Rose-Hulman
6. DePauw

Hosted by Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, Wisconsin
1. Wisconsin-Whitewater
2. Heidelberg
3. Concordia Chicago
4. Wisconsin-La Crosse
5. Adrian
6. St. Norbert

Hosted by Misericordia, Moosic, Pennsylvania
1. Moravian
2. Rowan
3. Susquehanna
4. Baldwin Wallace
5. Misericordia
6. Keystone
7. Wesleyan (Conn.)
8. Haverford

Hosted by the ECAC at Whitehouse Field, Harwich, Massachusetts
1. Eastern Connecticut State
2. Southern Maine
3. Tufts
4. Endicott
5. MIT
6. St. Joseph's (Maine)
7. Worcester State
8. Mitchell

Hosted by Ithaca at Colburn Park, Newark, New York
1. SUNY Cortland
2. Kean
3. Amherst
4. Rutgers-Camden
5. Farmingdale State
6. Stevens
7. Union (N.Y.)
8. Castleton

Hosted by Marietta, Marietta, Ohio
1. Marietta
2. Case
3. Salisbury
4. Widener
5. La Roche
6. John Carroll
7. Thomas More
8. Penn State-Berks

First-round matchups for the championship site will be as follows:

Augustana (Ill.) regional winner vs. Linfield regional winner
Misericordia regional winner vs. Piedmont regional winner
Ithaca regional winner vs. Marietta regional winner
ECAC regional winner vs. Wisconsin-Whitewater regional winner

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Conference Automatic - Qualifier Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference - LaRoche
American Southwest Conference - LeTourneau
Capital Athletic Conference - Salisbury
Centennial Conference - Haverford
City University of New York Athletic Conference - Stevens
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference - Keystone
Commonwealth Conference - Widener
Commonwealth Coast Conference - Endicott
Freedom Conference - Misericordia
Great Northeast Athletic Conference - St. Joseph's (Maine)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference - Rose Hulman
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Buena Vista
Landmark Conference - Susquehanna
Liberty League - Union (N.Y.)
Little East Conference - Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference - Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Adrian
Midwest Conference - St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - St. Thomas (Minn.)
New England Collegiate Conference - Mitchell
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Wesleyan (Conn.)
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference - MIT
New Jersey Athletic Conference - Rowan
North Atlantic Conference - Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference - DePauw
North Eastern Athletic Conference - Penn State-Berks
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference - Concordia Chicago
Northwest Conference - Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference - John Carroll
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Bridgewater (Va.)
President's Athletic Conference - Thomas More
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Webster
Skyline Conference - Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Cal Lutheran
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - Trinity (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic Conference - SUNY Cortland
USA South Athletic Conference - Covenant
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference - St. Scholastica
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Wisconsin-Whitewater

Pool B

Pool C
Baldwin Wallace
Birmingham Southern
Southern Maine
Wisconsin-La Crosse
Wisconsin-Stevens Point

In the 2013 Division III championship game, Linfield defeated Southern Maine 4-1 to win its first NCAA national championship.