FSC Garners Six All-Conference Baseball Selections

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference announced the 2018 Baseball All-Conference Teams after voting was conducted by the league's 10 head coaches.

Farmingdale State senior starting pitcher David Otero Jr. (Shelton, Conn.) earned First Team honors, while sophomore second baseman Tyler Schrimpf (Miller Place, N.Y.), sophomore designated hitter Vincent Rice (Massapequa Park, N.Y.), senior utility Domenic Palumbo (Old Bethpage, N.Y.), junior starting pitcher Matthew Constantine (West Babylon, N.Y.) and junior relief pitcher Ryan Mallon (Deer Park, N.Y.) were all named to the Second Team.

Otero Jr. went 4-2 in 11 starts, pitching 49 innings and holding a 2.39 earned run average. He registered a team-high 47 strike outs and held opponents to a .189 batting average against. In the conference, ended third in strike outs and seventh in both innings pitched and batting average against. Otero Jr. only allowed 33 total hits and ranked 31st in the Nation for hits allowed per nine innings (5.87).

Schrimpf led the team with 88 assists and ranked second in batting average (.314) and at-bats (102), third in on-base percentage (.383), and fourth in total bases (37), runs scored (15) and slugging percentage (.363). He finished with a .967 fielding percentage and ranked fourth in the Skyline in assists and fielding double plays (18).

Rice appeared in 26 games and posted a .333 batting average. He led the team in home runs (2), doubles (8) and slugging percentage (.528), ranked second in on-base percentage (.415) and third in total bases (38).

Palumbo spent time playing third base (10 games), second base (10 games) and catcher (6 games) this season. He batted .286 with 20 hits, 10 RBI's and 12 runs scored and led the team with two home runs.

Constantine was 5-1 this season with a 1.68 earned run average. He led the team in wins and complete game shutouts (3), ranked second in games started (6) and innings pitched (48.1), and third in saves (2). Constantine pitched a complete game shutout in the second game of a doubleheader three separate times this season. In the Skyline, finished fifth for wins and earned run average, seventh in saves, and ninth in innings pitched.

Mallon ranked third in the conference and led the team with a 1.37 earned run average. He finished 4-0 with three saves and did not allow an earned run in 10-of-12 appearances.


2018 Skyline Conference Baseball All-Conference Team

First Team
C – Jackson Hill, Purchase (So., Brooklyn, N.Y.)
1B – Paul Britt, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Commack, N.Y.)
2B – Dylan Flynn, Purchase (Fr., Smithtown, N.Y.)
* 2B – Jesse Russo, Old Westbury (Sr., Westbury, N.Y.)
SS – Matt Costleigh, Maritime (Sr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
3B – Tyler Sanderson, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Hauppauge, N.Y.)
OF – Michael Barnes, USMMA (Sr., Alexandria, Va.)
OF – John Fogarty, Old Westbury (Jr., Westbury, N.Y.)
OF – Travis Zurita, Maritime (Fr., Ozone Pk., N.Y.)
DH – Stephen Semler, Maritime (Sr., Kirkland, Wash.)
UT – John Condon, Old Westbury (Jr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
SP – David Otero Jr., Farmingdale State (Sr., Shelton, Conn.)
*** SP – Joe Raab, USMMA (Fr., Edwardsburg, Mich.)
** SP – Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA (Jr., Pasadena, Md.)
RP – Joshua Cruz, Old Westbury (Fr., Manhattan, N.Y.)
Second Team
C – Aaron Schiavoni, Maritime (Sr., Sag Harbor, N.Y.)
1B – Chris Introcaso, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Newburgh, N.Y.)
1B – Phil Russo, Maritime (So., Staten Island, N.Y.)
2B – Tyler Schrimpf, Farmingdale State (So., Miller Place, N.Y.)
SS – Anthony Raucci, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Seaford, N.Y.)
3B – Patrick Wallace, Purchase (So., Manorville, N.Y.)
OF – Matthew Burnett, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Amityville, N.Y.)
OF – Liam Slattery, Old Westbury (Sr., Floral Park, N.Y.)
OF – Shane Sullivan, Maritime (Fr., Stewart Manor, N.Y.)
DH – Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State (So., Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
UT – Domenic Palumbo, Farmingdale State (Sr., Old Bethpage, N.Y.)
SP – Matthew Constantine, Farmingdale State (Jr., W. Babylon, N.Y.)
SP – Anthony D'Ancona, Maritime (Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
SP – Blake Keenan, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Fishkill, N.Y.)
RP – Ryan Mallon, Farmingdale State (Jr., Deer Park, N.Y.)
* Player of the Year: Jesse Russo, Old Westbury
** Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
*** Rookie of the Year: Joe Raab, USMMA
Coach of the Year: Steve Sosler, Mount Saint Mary (ninth season)