FSC Baseball Headed to Johns Hopkins for NCAA Regionals

Action shot of Vincent Rice with




- Tickets: $4 for Adults, Youth & Seniors (children under two are free) -

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 58 teams that will compete in the 2019 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Farmingdale State will travel to Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland for the NCAA Regionals on May 17-19. The four-team bracket features Johns Hopkins, Farmingdale State, Susquehanna and TCNJ. The Rams open play in the double-elimination tournament against host-school Johns Hopkins on Friday at 2:30 p.m., while Susquehanna and TCNJ will meet in the other opening game at 11:00 a.m.

Farmingdale State (32-7) earned their berth into the NCAA Championship by winning the Skyline Conference. FSC won all three of their playoff games, including an 8-5 defeat of Old Westbury in the title game.

#22 Johns Hopkins enters the tournament with a 30-11 record and punched their ticket to the NCAA's after winning their 15th Centennial Conference Championship. The Blue Jays are led offensively by junior designated hitter Nate Davis (Ashburn, Va.) who is hitting .343 with 10 doubles, 15 homeruns and 41 runs batted in. On the mound, Jack Bunting (Westfield, N.J.) is 11-0 with a 2.30 ERA. He has struck out 60 batters in 62.2 innings pitched.

#11 TCNJ (31-9) earned their spot in the NCAA tournament after defeating Ramapo, 9-4, to win the NJAC Championship. The Lions are led by junior catcher David Cardona III (Elizabeth, N.J.), who is batting .435 this season, a mark that is 20th in the Nation, and junior pitcher Peter Nielsen (Freehold, N.J.) (6-1), who leads the team with a 2.33 earned run average in 65.2 innings on the mound.

Susquehanna (23-16) won the Landmark Conference Championship to claim an automatic bid into the NCAA's. Offensively, sophomore outfielder Steve Lorenz (Feasterville-Trevose, Pa.) is batting .400 in 39 games with a team-leading 64 hits, 32 RBI's and .581 slugging percentage. Sophomore Will Carey (Wallingford, Pa.) (3-0) holds a 1.66 earned run average in 19 relief appearances, while freshman Ryan Monroy (Berkely Heights, N.J.), who was named the Landmark Rookie of the Year, is 5-1 in 10 starts with a 3.41 ERA.

The regional round will be held from Friday, May 17th to Sunday, May 19th with the winners advancing to a best-of-three series in the super regionals on May 24-25. The eight super regional winners will then qualify for the pool play double-elimination championship at Perfect Game Field at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Friday-Tuesday/Wednesday, May 31-June 4/5, 2019.




Game 1: Susquehanna vs. TCNJ | 11:00 a.m.

Game 2: Farmingdale State vs. Johns Hopkins | 65 minutes after GM 1


Game 3: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 | 11:00 a.m.

Game 4: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 | 65 minutes after GM 3

Game 5: Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 | 65 minutes after GM 4


Game 6: Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5 | 12:00 p.m.

Game 7: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 (if necessary) | 35 minutes after GM 6