Kenny McMillan Named to ECAC Division III Men's Metro First Team
Mar 23, 2006

Cape Cod, Mass. - The ECAC has announced the 2006 Division III Men's Metro Basketball All-Star team. Montclair State University Red Hawks' senior forward Gian Paul Gonzalez has been tabbed the ECAC Division III Men's Metro Player of the Year by a vote of ECAC coaches. Gonzalez, the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Player of the Year, was also named to the NABC and All-American teams, earned the Atlantic Region Player of the Year award, and is a finalist for the Jostens Trophy. Gonzalez led the Red Hawks to a 13-12 overall finish, averaging 27 points per game. He leads the league in scoring, is fourth in rebounding (8.9), third in field goal percentage (.573) and second in free throw shooting (.883).

In addition to being named this year's Player of the Year, Gonzalez also earns a spot on the First Team. Joining him is Skyline Conference Player of the Year Kenny McMillan of Farmingdale State. McMillan led the Rams to the Skyline championship and a first-round victory in the NCAA Tournament. He is the all-time leading scorer at Farmingdale State and led the conference in rebounding with 11.3 rebounds per game.

Also earning a spot on the First Team is senior big man Sekani Francis of Lehman. The 2006 City University of New York Athletic Conference (CUNYAC) Player of the Year, Francis led the league in scoring (19.3 ppg.) and rebounding (12.9 pg.). Francis was named a Third Team All-American as he led the Lightening to an appearance in the ECAC quarterfinal.

William Paterson's junior guard Luis Martinez and Mount Saint Mary's junior guard Mike Hoyt were also voted onto the 2006 ECAC First Team. Martinez earned a spot on the NABC Division III All-American second team. He helped William Paterson (23-8) win the NJAC championship and reach the Elite 8 of the NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Championship. Also a All-Atlantic Region second team honoree, Martinez averaged career highs of 15.5 points and 6.9 rebounds per game. A finalist for the Jostens Trophy, Hoyt led conference in scoring (27.1 ppg) and assists (171). He helped the Blue Knights to a 22-7 overall finish and an appearance in the ECAC semifinal.

College of New Jersey's Scott Findlay, NYU's Jason Boone, Baruch's Louie Karis, New Jersey City's Mark Washington and Rowan's Matt Byrnes have all been named to the ECAC Division III Metro Men's Basketball Second Team.

In 2005-2006, the ECAC honored more than 65 men's basketball players during the winter months. The Conference also hosted four Division III championships in the regions of New England, Southern, Upstate and Metro.

The ECAC's membership includes 318 Divisions I, II, and III colleges and universities from Maine to Georgia and westerly to Illinois. The conference provides services to its constituents that include the administration of 110 championships and events in 32 men's and women's sports. The ECAC honors more than 3,000 student-athletes during the academic year through its all- star and player of the week program. Each week of the winter season, the conference has recognized five men's basketball athletes in Divisions II and III.