Rams Defeat Brockport; Flournoy Named to All-Tournament Team

Dyshaun Flournoy
Dyshaun Flournoy

Farmingdale State - 81, Brockport - 70

Farmingdale, N.Y. - Senior guard Joshua Smith (Deer Park, N.Y.) scored a game-high 23 points leading the Rams to an 81-70 victory over Brockport in the consolation game of the 2011 Courtyard by Marriott Tip-Off Tournament. Farmingdale State improved to 1-1 on the season, while the Golden Eagles dropped to 0-2.

Trailing 18-10 early in the first half, a 7-0 Farmingdale State run over the next 4:24 pulled the Rams within one with 11:13 remaining. Brockport again opened up an eight point advantage leading 27-19, before layups by Clarence Alonzo (Coram, N.Y.) and Smith cut Farmingdale State's deficit in half. The Rams outscored the Golden Eagles 10-1 over the final 5:21 and took a 33-29 lead into halftime.

Leading 42-39, Farmingdale State junior guard Christian Nunez (White Plains, N.Y.) hit a 3-pointer and the Rams turned Brockport over on their next two possessions to open up a 49-39 lead with 12:45 to play. The Golden Eagles would pull within three with 7:28 remaining, but a pair of free-throws by Dyshaun Flournoy (Brentwood, N.Y.) and Smith gave the Rams a 60-53 advantage. Farmingdale State would hold a lead for the remainder of the game as they shot 48% from the field in the victory.

Flournoy had 17 points and was a perfect 13-for-13 from the free-throw line and senior forward Ryan Tierney (Wantagh, N.Y.) pitched in scoring 12.

Brockport was led by senior forward Kyheem Green (Huntington Station, N.Y.) who had 21 points and 13 rebounds.

Farmingdale State next will host Baruch in a non-conference game on Tuesday, November 22nd at 8:00 p.m.

Championship Game:

In the 2011 Courtyard by Marriott Tip-Off Championship Game, John Jay (3-0) defeated Montclair State (1-1) 89-79. Senior guard Jerome Alexander (Brooklyn, N.Y.), the tournament MVP, led all scorers with 27 points for the Bloodhounds.

2011 Courtyard by Marriot All-Tournament Team:

MVP - Jerome Alexander - John Jay

Matt Collins - John Jay

Andrew August - Montclair State

James D'Angelo - Montclair State

Dyshaun Flournoy - Farmingdale State

Kyheem Green - Brockport