Matthews and Smith Named to ECAC Metro All-Star Team

Matthews and Smith Named to ECAC Metro All-Star Team

- Matthews Selected as Metro Player of the Year, Smith Selected to Second Team -

Centreville, Mass. - Farmingdale State College standout junior forward AJ Matthews (Brooklyn, N.Y.) headlines the 2011-12 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III Metro Men's Basketball All-Star Team, announced today by ECAC Commissioner Rudy Keeling. Matthews, the ECAC Player of the Year, is joined by College of Staten Island freshman forward Javon Cox, who was voted ECAC Rookie of the Year based on a vote of regional coaches, or their respective designee, as major award winners.

Matthews, voted the Skyline Conference Player of the Year, led the conference in scoring, rebounding, blocks and defensive rebounds. The junior averaged 22.4 points, 16.3 rebounds and 3.7 blocks per game. Leading the nation in double-doubles (26) and rebounding, Matthews earned a spot on the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-American team, as well as the 2012 NABC Atlantic Region Player of the Year award. Those two awards put Matthews into consideration for Division III National Player of the Year. During his career for the Rams, he has broken 10 single-season school records and also holds six all-time benchmarks.

Senior guard Joshua Smith (Deer Park, N.Y.) was named to the Second Team. This marks Josh's first year on the ECAC Metro All-Star team, adding to his two All-Conference accolades during his two year tenure at Farmingdale State. Smith finished second on the team in scoring with 15.2 points per game, a team-high 61 steals (2.1 per game) to go along with 70 assists (2.41 per game). He will leave FSC with four Top-5 Career rankings, including #3 for Steals (104), #5 for Scoring with 841 points, #5 for Field Goals Made (313) and #5 for Free Throws Made (157).

2011-12 ECAC Division III Metro Men's Basketball All-Star Team (Full ECAC Release)

Player of the Year
A.J. Matthews - Jr. - F - Farmingdale State College

Rookie of the Year
Javon Cox - Fr. - F - College of Staten Island

First Team
Corey Chandler - Jr. - G - William Paterson University
T.J. Tibbs - Sr. - G - College of Staten Island
A.J. Matthews - Jr. - F - Farmingdale State College
Winston Douglas - Jr. - F - Medgar Evers College
Lance Brown - Jr. - F - William Paterson University

Second Team
Jerome Alexander - Sr. - G/F - John Jay College
Joshua Smith - Sr. - G - Farmingdale State College
Simon Smith - Sr. - F - Stevens Institute of Technology
Jordan Young - Sr. - F/C - College of Staten Island
Carlos Valdez - Jr. - C - Mount Saint Mary College