Matthews Named All-Met Division III Player of the Year

Matthews Named All-Met Division III Player of the Year

- Matthews Picks Up Fifth Player of the Year Accolade -

New York, N.Y. - AJ Matthews of Farmingdale State was named the 2011-12 All-Met Division III men's college basketball player of the year on Wednesday, April 18 by the Met Basketball Writers Association.

Jose Rebimbas of William Paterson was selected coach of the year for a fourth time.

Joining Matthews on the All-Met first team: Lance Brown, Wm. Paterson; DaQuan Brooks, Western Connecticut; T.J. Tibbs, Staten Island; Andy Stein, NYU; Winston Douglas, Medgar Evers.

The All-Met second team: Andrew August, Montclair State; Corey Chandler, Wm. Paterson; Carlos Valdez, Mount St. Mary; Jordan Young, Staten Island; Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph's-LI; Jerome Alexander, John Jay.

The All-Met third team: Tyshawn Russell and Amil John, Brooklyn; Simon Smith and Sheldon Jones, Stevens Tech; Reed Buck, U.S. Merchant Marine Acad.; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch; Adam Katz; FDU-Florham.

A 7-0 junior forward from Brooklyn, N.Y., Matthews led the nation with 16.3 rpg, was third nationally with 3.7 blocks per game, 11th in the NCAA with 22.4 ppg and 12th with a .614 field goal percentage. Also named the Skyline Conference Player of the Year, ECAC Metro Player of the Year, Atlantic Region Player of the Year and NABC All-District Player of the Year, he led the nation with 26 double-doubles in 27 games played, and set single season school records with 99 blocks and 605 points. He also set eight other single-season school records and now holds six All-Time records after just one season played at Farmingdale State.

In his 17th season at the helm, Rebimbas guided the Pioneers to a 24-4 overall record, the NJAC North regular season title with an 11-2 record and to their eighth NCAA tournament appearance during his tenure. Previously named All-Met coach of the year in 1999, 2006 and 2010, he has an overall coaching record of 337-151. He lives in Warren, N.J., with his wife, Lisa, and two children.

The All-Met first and second team players, and coach of the year, will be honored Thursday evening, April 26 at the 79th NIT/MBWA awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.