Matthews Named NABC All-District Player of the Year

Matthews Named NABC All-District Player of the Year

- Matthews Repeats as All-District Player of the Year -

Kansas City, Mo. - The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced on Monday, March 18th the 2013 NABC Coaches' Division III All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division, selected by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division III.

Matthews was named the District Player of the Year after once again leading the nation in rebounds per game (14.7) and double-doubles (20), while also recording 2.88 blocks per game (7th in the nation) and 22.6 points per game (9th in the nation).

All 8 District Players of the Year are now up for Division III National Player of the Year, which will be announced at a later date. To view the entire Division III All-District Team and Coaches, click HERE.


Atlantic District Team

First Team
*AJ Matthews – Farmingdale State
Tyrik Tucker – Old Westbury
Jamar Harry – John Jay
Elgin Brown – Ramapo
Stephon Treadwell – Ramapo
Teon Russell – Rutgers Camden

Second Team
Lance Brown – William Paterson
Winston Douglas – Medgar Evers
Will Sanborn – Ramapo
Jonathon Chadwick-Myers – College of Staten Island
Tony Vails – York

Atlantic Region Coach of the Year
Chuck McBreen – Ramapo


*District Player of the Year