Riefenstahl Named First Team All-Conference; Graham Garners Second Team Honors

Men's Basketball Skyline All-Conference graphic with action photos of George Riefenstahl and Matthew Graham.


New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference has announced its 2017-18 men's basketball all-conference teams in voting conducted by the league's 11 head coaches.

Farmingdale State had two all-conference selections as junior forward George Riefenstahl (Bayport, N.Y.) earned First Team honors, while junior guard Matthew Graham (Valley Stream, N.Y.) was named Second Team All-Conference.

Riefenstahl appeared in 21-of-26 games and led the team in scoring (14.1 ppg), rebounding (10.2 rpg), field goal percentage (.575) and blocked shots (44) and was fifth in free-throw percentage (.773). In the Skyline, he finished second in rebounding, blocked shots and field goal percentage and sixth for scoring. In the Nation, Riefenstahl ranked 24th in both blocks (2.05) and defensive rebounds (7.57) per game, 28th in rebounding, 45th in total blocks and 52nd in field goal percentage.

Graham started every game this season and led the team in 3-point field goal percentage (.355), 3-point field goals made per game (2.3) and free-throw percentage (.873), ranked second in scoring (13.9 ppg), steals (30) and assists (67) and fifth in rebounding (3.8 rpg). In the conference, Graham finished fifth in 3-point field goals made per game, 10th in scoring and 17th for both assists (2.6) and steals (1.2) per game.


2017-18 Skyline Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team:

Ammad Alkhulaidi, Mount Saint Vincent - Sr. - F - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Bar Alluf, Yeshiva - So. - G - Kfar Saba, Israel
* Deshawn Cann, Purchase - Jr. - G - Queens, N.Y.
Simcha Halpert, Yeshiva - So. - G - Los Angeles, Calif.
Patrick MacDonald, Maritime - Sr. - C - Buffalo, N.Y.
George Riefenstahl, Farmingdale State - Jr. - F - Bayport, N.Y.

Second Team:

Nikeem Deleon, Purchase - Sr. - G - Bronx, N.Y.
Matthew Graham, Farmingdale State - Jr. - G - Valley Stream, N.Y.
Gabriel Leifer, Yeshiva - So. - F - Lawrence, N.Y.
Tyler McDine, Mount Saint Mary - Sr. - G - Suffern, N.Y.
Alan McDonald, Old Westbury - Jr. - F - Hempstead, N.Y.
Gerard Nocera, Mount Saint Mary - Sr. - G/F - Holmdel, N.J.

* Player of the Year: Deshawn Cann, Purchase
Defensive Player of the Year: Tarik Allicock, Purchase (Sr., C; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Rookie of the Year: James Walsh, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (Fr., G; Huntington, N.Y.)
Coach of the Year: James Mooney, Mount Saint Vincent (first season)