National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Inductees

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Inductees

Sparks, Md. - The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame announces the addition of nine new inductees as the Class of 2017, following approval by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. The newest members will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, September 23, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

The 2017 inductees are: Brooks Sweet, Doug Knight, Leslie Blankin Lane, Jim McDonald, Laurette Payette, Casey Powell, Jill Johnson Redfern, Robyn Nye Wood, and Don Zimmerman.

Sweet will be inducted as a truly great player. Following an all-star prep career at Ithaca (N.Y.) High School, Sweet began his collegiate career at SUNY Farmingdale, where he was a junior college All-American in both 1976 & 1977 and he helped Farmingdale to the 1977 JUCO national championship. He then moved to the University of Massachusetts, earning honorable mention All-America status in 1978 and first team honors in 1979 when he also led the nation with 61 goals scored. He was also team captain and MVP in 1979. Sweet played for Team USA in both 1982 & 1986, and was named both the Most Outstanding Attackman and All-World at the 1982 championship as the U.S. team captured gold. Sweet played four professional seasons in the Major Indoor Lacrosse League and was a three-time league all-star. He has been previously inducted into five other halls of fame, including most recently, the National Junior College Hall of Fame in 2008.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Maryland.


To view the bios of the other eight inductees and the complete press release, click HERE.