Rams Split at 2010 Lasell Kick Off Classic

Rams Split at 2010 Lasell Kick Off Classic

Rams Split at 2010 Lasell Kick Off Classic

Saturday: Farmingdale State - 3, Green Mountain - 1

Sunday: Lasell - 2, Farmingdale State - 0

Newton, Mass. - The Farmingdale State men's soccer team went 1-1 this weekend at the 2010 Kickoff Classic hosted by Lasell College. The Rams now hold a 1-2 overall record this season.

In the first game against Green Mountain College, the Eagles took a 1-0 lead 23 minutes into the contest as senior forward Deng Deng (New York, N.Y./Olast East) scored an unassisted goal. Senior midfielder Bryant Rodriguez (Elmont, N.Y./Sewanhaka) answered three minutes later for Farmingdale State, as he tied the game scoring on a penalty kick. Senior forward Matt Tennie (Massapequa, N.Y./St. John the Baptist) would give the Rams a 2-1 lead at the 35:29 mark, scoring from 10 yards out off the pass from senior midfielder Alex Mendolia (Smithtown, N.Y./Smithtown East). Mendolia would add the final goal of the match midway through the second half, as Farmingdale State earned their first win of the season.

On Sunday, the Rams squared off against host school Lasell College. After a scoreless first half, senior forward Dan Hatch (Avon, Mass./Avon) scored the games opening goal for Lasell 36 seconds into the second half. Junior forward Kyle Cronin (Weymouth, Mass./Weymouth) increased Lasell's lead to 2-0 three minutes later, netting a goal off the pass from Hatch. The Rams were unable to cut into Lasell's lead and fell 2-0.

Farmingdale State junior goalkeeper Ricky Meschkow (Plainview, N.Y./Plainview-Old Bethpage) had eight saves, while junior Matthew Bruninghaus (Plymouth, Mass./Plymouth) had six saves for the Lasers.

The Rams will face Hunter College at Randall's Island Wednesday, September 8th at 5:00 p.m.

All-Tournament Team -

Sean Fisher - Lasell

James Clancy - Lasell

Dan Hatch - Lasell

Anthony Sammut - Farmingdale State

Alex Mendolia - Farmingdale State

Ricky Meschkow - Farmingdale State

Joe Gabor - NYU - Polytech

Nick Michalczewski- NYU Polytech

Marcelo Escudero- NYY Polytech

Charly Thevenau- Green Mountain

Chris Gaskin- Green Mountain

Nate Kishbaugh- Green Mountain