May 6, 2013

Men's Tennis Will Head to Middlebury for NCAA's

2013 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis BRACKET


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Committee has selected the 44 teams that will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships.

Farmingdale State (12-1), who won their third straight conference title on Saturday, April 27, will face Drew University (11-6) in the First Round at host site Middlebury College in Middlebury, Vermont on Friday, May 10. Second round action will be on Saturday, May 11 and Third Round on Sunday, May 12.

The Rams have posted 12 wins this season and are led by sophomore Justin Vijungco (Forest Hills, N.Y.) who repeated as the Skyline Player of the Year after going 8-1 at first singles and 8-4 at first doubles with senior teammate Ryan Musalo (Massapequa Park, N.Y.). Musalo is currently 7-3 at #2 singles. Senior Alex Bessarabov (Lindenhurst, N.Y.) increased his school record in wins to 43 after posting a 12-1 record at third singles. He also holds the school record for doubles wins with 36 (10-2 in 2013).

Drew won their 13th straight conference championship, their sixth in the Landmark, with a 5-4 win over the University of Scranton on Saturday, April 27th. Drew is led by 3-Time Player of the Year, senior Raul Smego (Ponce, Puerto Rico), who has competed at both No. 1 and 2 singles this season finishing 9-5 in dual matches during the regular season. Hunter Lathrop went 10-2 at second singles and Djedjy Hill is the third singles player with a record of 5-4. 

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 10-12. Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 20-22 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 8.

The championships provide for a 44-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 30 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Seven teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining seven teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).

The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:


The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championships from Pool B
and Pool C candidates:



Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Kenyon, 5-3, to claim the team
title. For more information about the championship, including a championship bracket, log on to