Baker Named Conference Player of the Year; Bass, Gaudio & Kafka Named to Second Team

Mark Baker Player of the Year flyer

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference eight men's tennis head coaches have voted on the 2019 edition of their all-conference team, and Farmingdale State freshman Mark Baker (North Baldwin, N.Y.) has been selected as both Player and Rookie of the Year.

In addition, freshman Malik Bass (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), sophomore Steven Gaudio (Miller Place, N.Y.) and senior Daniel Kafka (Massapequa Park, N.Y.) were each named Second Team All-Conference and head coach Adam Waterhouse was named the co-Coach of the Year (with Purchase's Jordan Snider).

Baker, who was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2019 Skyline Conference Men's Tennis Championship on Sunday, lost just one match on the year as Farmingdale State's #1 singles and doubles player. He was undefeated in 13 matches at top-flight singles, while registering a 13-1 mark at #1 doubles.

Bass earned second team honors after posting an 8-4 singles record and a 9-4 mark in doubles.

Gaudio won four singles matches as FSC's #2 player and held a 10-3 record in doubles competition.

Kafka won nine singles and nine doubles matches for FSC this season. He leaves Farmingdale State with the third most singles victories (29) in school history.


2019 Skyline Conference Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team

Mark Baker, Farmingdale State (Fr.; No. Baldwin, N.Y.)
Lior Brik, Yeshiva (Jr.; Zichron Yaakov, Israel)
Aaron Cohen, Yeshiva (Fr.; Johannesburg, South Africa)
Courage Crawford, Purchase (Fr.; Larchmont, N.Y.)
Isaac Jones, Purchase (Jr.; Ossining N.Y.)
Chris McGorty, Mount Saint Mary (Sr.; Bellmore, N.Y.)
Mikey Ozery, Yeshiva (Sr.; Plantation, Fla.)
Daniel Zakrevski, USMMA (Sr.; Forest Hills, N.Y.)

Second Team

Malik Bass, Farmingdale State (Fr.; Rockville Centre, N.Y.)
Steven Gaudio, Farmingdale State (So.; Miller Place, N.Y.)
Daniel Kafka, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
Justin McGaffigan, USMMA (Jr.; Quincy, Mass.)
Avidan Rudansky, Yeshiva (Jr.; Mamaroneck, N.Y.)
Jaden Tiriolo, Mount Saint Mary (So.; Cheshire, Conn.)

Player and Rookie of the Year: Mark Baker, Farmingdale State
Coaches of the Year: Jordan Snider, Purchase (second season); Adam Waterhouse, Farmingdale State (11th season)