Cross Country Finishes Sixth at Skyline Championships

- Kashani finishes 9th individually; Bonilla finishes 19th individually -

Bronx, N.Y. - Both the men's and women's cross country teams finished in sixth place overall at the Skyline Conference Championships on Sunday afternoon at Van Cortlandt Park.

For Farmingdale State, freshman Jacob Kashani (Roslyn, N.Y.) led the team in 9th place with a time of 29:37.10. Sophomore Daniel Barrett (Wantagh, N.Y.) finished in 23rd at 21:00.73, followed by sophomore Patrick DiMaria (Commack, N.Y.) in 40th in 32:55.81.

The women were led by senior Melissa Bonilla (Farmingdale, N.Y.) in 19th individually with a time of 22:18.32, freshman Kristen Starke (Bellmore, N.Y.) in 25th place at 22:52.92 and junior Druscilla Dickson (Copiague, N.Y.) at 23:41.26 with a 35th place finish.


One year after finishing runner-up, senior Brian Wersan of St. Joseph's-L.I. claimed the individual title as the Golden Eagles won their fourth consecutive Skyline Men's Cross Country Championship on Sunday afternoon under brilliant sunshine at historic Van Cortlandt Park.  

On the women's side, sophomore Brittany Guttieri led four SJC runners in the top six overall as the Golden Eagles seized their seventh championship in eight years. 

Wersan posted a winning time of 27:05.01 on the 8,000m course to edge 2012 champion Cameron Coneys (27:08.44) of Maritime.  SJC teammates Nick Diaz (29:35.28) and Rich Schimmel (29:38.23) finished eighth and tenth, respectively, as the Golden Eagles compiled 46 points overall.  

Led by a fifth-place finish by senior Oliver Sax (29:17.86), Yeshiva finished second overall with 66 points, followed by Mount Saint Mary (88), Maritime (91), Sage (149), Farmingdale State (157), Mount Saint Vincent (165), Purchase (180), NYU-Poly (257) and Old Westbury (276).  

Steve Begley of Yeshiva garnered Men's Coach of the Year honors, while Mount Saint Vincent freshman Patrick Goldberg (28:35.51) earned Rookie of the Year distinction after placing fourth overall in a field of 83 runners.  

Guttieri finished second on the women's side with a time of 20:10.05, while SJC juniors AnnMarie Zigrosser and Lauren Waka placed third and fifth overall, just ahead of teammate Caitlyn Ryan (sixth).  Purchase sophomore Katherine Henri won the individual title with a blistering time of 19:42.26 on the 5,000m course.  

St. Joseph's-L.I. amassed 24 points while Mount Saint Mary finished runner-up with 65 points.  Yeshiva finished third overall with 96 points, followed by Sage (112), Purchase (128), Farmingdale State (149), Maritime (171), Old Westbury (244) and Mount Saint Vincent (246).  

Jim Crowley of St. Joseph's-L.I. was tabbed the Coach of the Year on the women's side, while Mount Saint Mary freshman Brigitte Leyva (21:28.85) received Rookie of the Year honors as she finished 14th overall out of 98 competitors.  

Men's First-Team All-Conference
Brian Wersan, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Champion)
Cameron Coneys, Maritime
Juan Reyes-Alvarez, Sage
Patrick Goldberg, Mount Saint Vincent
Oliver Sax, Yeshiva
Adam Al-Haraizeh, Mount Saint Mary
Kevin Sun, Maritime

Men's Second-Team All-Conference
Nick Diaz, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Jacob Kashani, Farmingdale State
Rich Schimmel, St. Joseph;s-L.I.
Dov Levine, Yeshiva
Isaac Markel, Yeshiva
John Antonacci, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Jon Afanador, St. Joseph's-L.I.

Most Outstanding Performer: Brian Wersan, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Rookie of the Year: Patrick Goldberg, Mount Saint Vincent
Coach of the Year: Steve Begley, Yeshiva
Women's First-Team All-Conference
Katherine Henri, Purchase (Champion)
Brittany Guttieri, St. Joseph's-L.I.
AnnMarie Zigrosser, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Rachel Sleeter, Mount Saint Mary
Lauren Waka, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Caitlyn Ryan, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Jackie Bellisari, Maritime

Women's Second-Team All-Conference
Mary Cipriano, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Stephanie Greenberg, Yeshiva
Alaina Krueger, Sage
Nicole Zazzero, Mount Saint Mary
Samantha Maurice, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Jenna Pearsall, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Brigitte Leyva, Moint Saint Mary

Most Outstanding Performer: Katherine Henri, Purchase
Rookie of the Year: Brigitte Leyva, Mount Saint Mary
Coach of the Year: Jim Crowley, St. Joseph's-L.I.