Rams Selected Second in Skyline Preseason Coaches Poll

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

New York, N.Y. - Bolstered by the return of two-time Player of the Year Corine Fitzgibbons, NYU-Poly has been selected to seize the 2013 Skyline Softball Championship in voting conducted by the league's eight head coaches.

The Jays won the Skyline regular season title a year ago with a 13-1 record and finished the 2012 campaign with a 27-11 overall record. Fitzgibbons led Division III in slugging percentage (.958) and finished sixth nationally in home runs (13), while teammate Miranda Merilli registered 14 victories and earned Skyline Pitcher of the Year distinction last season.

Seeking its fourth league championship in five years, defending champion Farmingdale State returns sophomore hurler Taylor Tedeschi, the Most Valuable Player of the 2012 Skyline Championship.

NYU-Poly received six first-place votes and compiled 48 points, while FSC amassed 41points and garnered a first-place vote. Sage also earned a first-place vote and placed third in the voting with 40 points. The Gators finished runner up at the 2012 Skyline Championship and won a program-record 29 contests. Sage welcomes back reigning Rookie of the Year Kristen Beikirch.

Coming off a program-record 26-win season, Old Westbury is ranked fourth with 31 points, followed by 2012 ECAC Metro Champion St. Joseph's-L.I. (25), Mount Saint Mary (20), Mount Saint Vincent (10) and Purchase (10).

The four-team 2013 Skyline Championship will be held on Apr. 26-28 on the campus of the regular season champion.

2013 Skyline Preseason Coaches Poll    Points
1. NYU-Poly 48 (6)
2. Farmingdale State 41 (1)
3. Sage 40 (1)
4. Old Westbury 31
5. St. Joseph's-L.I. 25
6. Mount Saint Mary 20
T7. Mount Saint Vincent 10
T7. Purchase 10

(First-place votes in parentheses)