Harrison and Casey Named All-Skyline

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference has announced its 2016-17 women's basketball all-conference teams in voting conducted by the league's 10 head coaches.

Farmingdale State junior guard Tyra Harrison (Baldwin, N.Y.) was named First Team All-Conference, while junior forward Essence Casey (Huntington Station, N.Y.) earned Second Team honors.

Harrison appeared in 25 games, while starting 23 and led the Rams in scoring (14.3 ppg), field goal percentage (.425), assists (73) and was second in steals (66). She scored in double-digits in 22 of her 25 games played this season. Harrison ranked fourth in the conference in field goal percentage, sixth for both steals and scoring and eighth in assists.

Casey played in every game with 23 starts. She ranked second on FSC in rebounding (6.2 rpg) and third in both scoring (10.8 ppg) and assists (66). In the Skyline, Casey was ninth in free-throw percentage, 13th for steals, 14th in assists and 17th in rebounding.


2016-17 Skyline Conference Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team:
Christina Barone* - Mount Saint Vincent - Sr. - G - Staten Island, N.Y.
Tyra Harrison - Farmingdale State - Jr. - G - Baldwin, N.Y.
Andrea Iavarone - St. Joseph's (L.I.) - Jr. - F - Miller Place, N.Y.
Jessica Rini - Mount Saint Mary - Jr. - F - Seaford, N.Y.
Genevieve Schoff - Sage - Jr. - G/F - Little Falls, N.Y.
Ruth Vargas - Old Westbury - Sr. - C - Brentwood, N.Y.

Second Team:
Essence Casey - Farmingdale State - Jr. - F - Huntington Station, N.Y.
Kayla Cleare - Mount Saint Mary - So. - C - W. Hempstead, N.Y.
Kaleigh D'Arcy - USMMA - Fr. - G - White Plains, N.Y.
Destiny Marino - St. Joseph's (Bklyn.) - Jr. - G - Middle Village, N.Y.
Jasmine Robinson - Old Westbury - Sr. - G - Greenburgh, N.Y.

*Player of the Year: Christina Barone, Mount Saint Vincent
Defensive Player of the Year: Kelly Nola, Mount Saint Vincent (Jr., G; Staten Island, N.Y.)
Rookie of the Year: Kaleigh D'Arcy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Coach of the Year: Michael Coppolino, Mount Saint Mary (fourth season)


To view the complete Skyline Conference press release, click HERE.