Rams Tabbed Second in Skyline Preseason Coaches Poll

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

New York, N.Y. - Three-time defending champion Montclair State has been selected by the slimmest of margins to capture the 2013 Skyline women's lacrosse crown in voting conducted by the league's eleven head coaches.

The Red Hawks received seven first-place votes and compiled 95 overall points, while 2012 regular season champion Farmingdale State garnered four first-place votes and amassed 94 points. MSU edged the Rams in the 2012 Skyline Championship, 14-12, and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Montclair State welcomes back first-team All-Conference senior attack Kailee Beal (64 goals) and reigning Skyline Rookie of the Year Tierney Conlon (114 points).

After winning a program-best 13 contests last season - which included an 8-0 mark in league action - Farmingdale State will be led by sophomore midfielder Christy Thoden, who established program single season records for ground balls (64) and draw controls (119). The Rams will be under the direction of first-year head coach Erin Calkins.

St. Joseph's-L.I. placed third in the voting with 82 points, followed by Kean (73), Mount Saint Mary (61), Ramapo (53), Mount Saint Vincent (51), Maritime (31), Old Westbury (25), Sage (24) and Purchase (16). Old Westbury and Purchase will celebrate their inaugural seasons of women's lacrosse in 2013, while Kean will be led by senior attack Lyndsey Cannon, who led the Skyline with 85 goals a year ago.

The quarterfinals of the six-team 2013 Skyline Championship will be held on Tuesday, April 23rd, with the semifinals scheduled for Thursday, April 25th. The championship match is slated for Saturday, April 27th.

2013 Skyline Preseason Coaches Poll - Points

1. Montclair State 95 (7)
2. Farmingdale State 94 (4)
3. St. Joseph's-L.I. 82
4. Kean 73
5. Mount Saint Mary 61
6. Ramapo 53
7. Mount Saint Vincent 51
8. Maritime 31
9. Old Westbury 25
10. Sage 24
11. Purchase 16

(First-place votes in parentheses)