Women's Lacrosse Has Four All-Conference Selections; Tuohy Named Rookie of the Year

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference's eight women's lacrosse head coaches have voted on their all-conference team and Farmingdale State had four student-athletes selected.

Sophomore midfielder Courtney Gendels (Wantagh, N.Y.) earned first team honors, while junior attack Nicola Ingrassia (Deer Park, N.Y.), freshman attack Julia Tuohy (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.) and junior defender Haley Newberg (West Islip, N.Y.) were each named to the second team. Tuohy was also tabbed the Skyline Conference Rookie of the Year.

Gendels led the team in goals, ranked second in points, third in both ground balls and caused turnovers and fourth for draw controls. In the Skyline, she was fifth in goals, 10th in goals per game, 11th for points and 14th in points per game. She scored a career-high eight goals versus Old Westbury on April 28th.

Ingrassia ranked third on Farmingdale State in both goals scored and points. She scored at least one goal in the last seven games of the season, including four at Maritime on April 21st.

Tuohy led FSC in points and assists, ranked second in goals and third for game-winning goals. She led the conference in points, assists and assists per game, was fifth in points per game, 10th in goals and 12th for goals per game. In the NCAA, Tuohy ranks 15th in assists per game and 18th in assists. She set the Farmingdale State single-game point record with 15 against Maritime on April 21st.

Newburg anchored the Farmingdale State defense and was fourth on the team in ground balls and fifth for caused turnovers.


2018 Skyline Conference Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team
A – Krista Deleva, Maritime (Jr., Sound Beach, N.Y.)
A – Lauryn Gregson, St. Joseph's-L.I.
A – Christina Ryan, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Franklin Sq., N.Y.)
A – Kelly Turtell, Purchase (Sr., Farmingdale, N.Y.)
* A – Meredith Willard, USMMA (Jr., Portland, Maine)
M – Courtney Gendels, Farmingdale State (So., Wantagh, N.Y.)
M – Zoe Hines, Purchase (Sr., Maplewood, N.J.)
M – Maura Malone, USMMA (Jr., Yorktown, Va.)
** M – Jessica Reilly, USMMA (Jr., Sayville, N.Y.)
M – Nicole Stoppelli, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Lindenhurst, N.Y.)
D – Rebecca Bessler, USMMA (Sr., Kent, Wash.)
D – Morgan Cordes, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Sound Beach, N.Y.)
D – Chelsea Chamberlain, USMMA (So., So. Setauket, N.Y.)
D – Chelsea Tarazona, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Islip Terrace, N.Y.)
G – Hannah Gizzi, USMMA (Jr., Finksburg, Md.)
Second Team
A – Elizabeth Halpin, Mount Saint Mary (So., LaGrangeville, N.Y.)
A – Nicola Ingrassia, Farmingdale State (Jr., Deer Park, N.Y.)
A – Ally Johnston, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Commack, N.Y.)
*** A – Julia Tuohy, Farmingdale State (Fr., Pt. Jefferson Station, N.Y.)
M – Kristi Carroll, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Patchogue, N.Y.)
M – Gabriella Castles, Purchase (Fr., Bethpage, N.Y.)
M – Natasha Treuman, Old Westbury (Jr., Merrick, N.Y.)
M – Sara Wright, Maritime (Fr., E. Islip, N.Y.)
D – LaChaye Allen, Old Westbury (Sr., Freeport, N.Y.)
D – Melanie Cervone, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Shirley, N.Y.)
D – Meghan Cumming, Mount Saint Mary (So., Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
D – Haley Newburg, Farmingdale State (Jr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
D – Courtney Salatto, Maritime (Jr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
G – Lindsay Ramos, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Farmingdale, N.Y.)

* Offensive Player of the Year: Meredith Willard, USMMA
** Defensive Player of the Year: Jessica Reilly, USMMA
*** Rookie of the Year: Julia Tuohy, Farmingdale State
Coach of the Year: Kyle Simensky, USMMA (sixth season)