Five All-Conference Honors for Women's Soccer

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

Five All-Conference Honors for Women's Soccer

- Martorano and Merrill named First Team, Cerverizzo, Lasota and Smith receieve Second Team Honors

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State women's soccer team had five players named to the All-Skyline Conference Team. Freshman defender Theresa Martorano (Commack, N.Y.) and freshman forward Christina Merrill (Levittown, N.Y.) were named First Team, while sophomore midfielder Katrina Cerverizzo (Center Moriches, N.Y.), freshman defender Jillian Lasota (Massapequa, N.Y.) and freshman midfielder Jamie Smith (Holtsville, N.Y.) received Second Team honors.

Martorano started every game for the Rams this season, scoring three goals and recording three assists from her defensive position. Martorano led the Skyline's top defense, which allowed only one goal in nine conference games.

Merrill scored seven goals and had 10 assists for a team-high 24 points. Merrill was ranked 3rd in assists and assists per game in the Skyline Conference. In conference games, she ranked 1st with eight assists, 2nd in points with 20 and scored six goals which is tied for 6th place.

Cerverizzo was second on the team scoring nine goals and third with 18 points this year. Cerverizzo had three game-winning goals, which was tied for 5th place in the conference.

Lasota led a defense that allowed only 14 goals this year and shutout 13 opponents. Lasota helped the Rams post a 0.11 goals against average in conference games.

Smith led the team with 11 goals and 24 points from her midfield position. Smith had four game-winning goals this season, two of which came in playoff games. She scored six goals in nine Skyline regular season games.


The 2009 All-Skyline Conference Team for Women's Soccer and Individual/Team Honors is as follows...

Player of the Year
Kim Larie, Bard

Rookie of the Year
Lauren Dorsey-Spitz, Bard

Coach of the Year

Bill Kelly, Bard

Sportsmanship Award

First Team All-Skyline
GK – Brittany McDonald, Sage
D – Samantha DeFoe, Sage
D – Theresa Martorano, Farmingdale State
D – Ashley Panepinto, Purchase
M – Ashley Allain, Sage
M – Cosie Andujar, Bard
M – Jennifer Campisi, Old Westbury
M – Abigail Katz, Purchase
F – Christina Merrill, Farmingdale State
F – Cassandra Esposito, Old Westbury
F – Lauren Dorsey-Spitz, Bard
F – Rebecca Marszalek, Sage

Second Team All-Skyline

GK – Megan Cotta, Mount Saint Mary
D – Nicole Christensen, St. Joseph’s
D – Emilie Buse, Purchase
D – Jill Lasota, Farmingdale State
M – Kate Arthurs, St. Joseph’s
M – Katrina Cerverizzo, Farmingdale State
M – Jill Sage, Bard
M – Jamie Smith, Farmingdale State
F – Danielle Bucco, Mount Saint Mary
F – Lauren Dorsa, Mount Saint Mary
F – Jorrie Trenkamp, Maritime