Rams Have Two Players Selected All-Region

Rams Have Two Players Selected All-Region

Rams Have Two Players Selected All-Region

- Cerverizzo and Merrill among Top DIII players in East Region -

Farmingdale, N.Y. - Two members of the Farmingdale State women's soccer team, junior defender Katrina Cerverizzo (Center Moriches, N.Y./Center Moriches) and sophomore midfielder Christina Merrill (Levittown, N.Y./Island Trees), were selected to the 2010 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Division III All-East Region team. Cerverizzo was named Second Team and Merrill was named to the Third Team.

Cerverizzo picks up her second consecutive All-Region award, after being selected to the Third Team in 2009. Katie is a 3-Time All-Conference player who was named the 2010 Skyline Conference Tournament MVP, after scoring the winning goal with 3:22 remaining to play, helping the Rams clinched their fourth straight Skyline Title. She finished the year with 22-of-22 starts with a team-high of 1652 minutes played, along with two goals and seven assists. Over three seasons, Katie has accumulated 57 points, tied for 2nd All-Time at Farmingdale, while scoring 24 goals (2nd All-Time) with seven game-winners (tied for the school record).

Merrill, the 2010 Skyline Conference Player of the Year, was named to the Third Team. Christina is a two-time All-Conference selection and has scored 41 points in two years with the Rams. This season, she led the Conference in Assists per game (0.59) and led the 17-5 Rams in both Points (29) and Assists (13). She currently stands in fourth place All-Time at Farmingdale State for points and in third place with 17 assists. Her 13 assists places her 2nd All-Time at Farmingdale for assists in a season; her 27 points places her 4th All-Time at FSC for points in a season. She's also now in 2nd place for Career assists at Farmingdale in just her sophomore year.

2010 NSCAA/Performance Subaru
NCAA Division III Women

All-East Region

First Team

Pos. Name Year School
K Amanda Davis Jr. William Smith
D Lindsay Schmitt Sr. Skidmore
D Erin Boyle Sr. SUNY Oneonta
D Megan Palladino So. Ithaca 
M Whitney Frary So. William Smith
M Lindsay Keyser Jr. Plattsburgh State
M Kelsey Yam So. Skidmore
F Ellen Coleman Jr. University of Rochester
F Brelynn Nasypany Sr. William Smith
F Rachael Palladino So. Ithaca 

Second Team

Pos. Name Year School
K Hillary Simon Sr. Nazareth
D Katrina Cerverizzo Jr. Farmingdale State
D Ashley Keogh Sr. SUNY Geneseo
D Meaghan Magee Sr. University of Rochester
M Bridgette Barden Fr. Stevens Institute of Technology
M Karly DeSimone Fr. SUNY Oneonta
M Caroline Jastremski So. Ithaca
F Bridgette DeSantis Jr. SUNY Cortland
F Dana DeSimone Jr. SUNY Oneonta
F Melissa Mansfield Fr. Union College
F Kathleen Schuckers Jr. Stevens Institute of Technology
F Bridgette Varin Sr. University of Rochester

Third Team

Pos. Name Year School
K Jessica Platt Sr. Ithaca
D Sarah Boak Jr. Hamilton
D Catherine Kapustynski Jr. Skidmore
D Erin Norris Sr. Plattsburgh State
D Caitlin O'Donnell Sr. Union
D Amanda Sudore So. Nazareth
M Sarah Eichelberger So. Nazareth
M Christina Merrill So. Farmingdale State
M Elena Rogers Jr. St. Lawrence
M Jamie Sawyer Jr. William Smith
F Nicole DiNitto Jr. SUNY Technology
F Liz Radigan Sr. Plattsburgh State
F Kathryn Redmond Jr. William Smith
F Nha Wright Sr. SUNY Oneonta