Eight Rams Named All-Conference for Women's Soccer

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

- Cerverizzo, Lasota, Magee and Smith named First Team, Martorano, Merrill and Maass receive Second Team honors, while Kiefer named Rookie of the Year -

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference released the 2011 All-Conference women's soccer team on Thursday, November 10th. Senior defender Katrina Cerverizzo (Center Moriches, N.Y.), junior defender Jillian Lasota (Massapequa, N.Y.), junior forward Corine Magee (Mastic, N.Y.) and junior midfielder Jamie Smith (Ronkonkoma, N.Y.) were each named First Team All-Skyline Conference. Junior forward Theresa Martorano (Commack, N.Y.), junior midfielder Christina Merrill (Levittown, N.Y.) and senior goalkeeper Amanda Maass (Mastic Beach, N.Y.) received Second Team All-Skyline honors, while freshman defender Andrea Kiefer (Centereach, N.Y.) was named the Rookie of the Year.

Cerverizzo, a team captain, started every game for the Rams this season. She scored a team-high 10 goals, including three game winners and had 21 points from her defensive position. Cerverizzo controlled a defense that held a 0.50 goals against average in Skyline matches and did not allow a goal in two playoff games.

Lasota started all 19 games on defense for Farmingdale State. She was a main reason the Rams allowed only 12 goals this season and were ranked second in the Skyline Conference in goals against average. Lasota also added two goals and an assist for five points on the year.

Magee led the Skyline's top ranked offense as she was tied for the team lead in goals scored and points. Magee was tied for sixth in the conference in goals and eighth in points this season. In Skyline play, she scored seven goals and added two assists for 16 points.

Smith led the team with eight assists and tallied seven goals for 22 points. Smith ranked third in the conference in assists, fifth in assists per game and eighth in points. In eight Skyline games, she recorded a conference best seven assists.

Martorano scored six goals, including one game-winner and had four assists for 16 points this season. She controlled an offense that was ranked atop the conference in points, goals and assists.

Merrill, the 2010 Skyline Conference Player of the Year, ranked second on the team in assists and scored two goals from her midfield position. Merrill was tied for fourth in the Skyline in assists and sixth in assists per game.

Maass posted an 11-3-2 record including three shutouts, starting 16 games in goal for the Rams this year. Maass ranked second in the conference in goals against average and third in save percentage (.804).

Kiefer was named Skyline Conference Rookie of the Year as she solidified an experienced defense for Farmingdale State. Kiefer started every game and recorded four assists. Kiefer's lone goal was a game-winner over Buffalo State early in the season.

The 2011 All-Skyline Women's Soccer Teams and Individual Honors are as follows:

Corine Magee - Farmingdale State - Jr. - F
Rebecca Marszalek - The Sage Colleges - Sr. - F
Cat Viscardi - Purchase - Fr. - F
Kaitlin Arthurs - St. Joseph's-L.I. - Sr. - M
Sara Sheehan - Mount Saint Mary - So. - M
Jamie Smith - Farmingdale State - Jr. - M
Katrina Cerverizzo - Farmingdale State - Sr. - B
Ashley George - St. Joseph's-L.I. - Jr. - B
Jillian Lasota - Farmingdale State - Jr. - B
Tara McDermott - Mount Saint Mary - So. - B
Jacquelyn Mancini - Mount Saint Mary - So. - GK

Vanessa DiSilvio - Mount Saint Mary - Fr. - F
Victoria Hassett - St. Joseph's-L.I. - Fr. - F
Theresa Martorano - Farmingdale State - Jr. - F
Jorrie Trenkamp - Maritime - Jr. - F
JoAnna Kettell - Old Westbury - So. - M
Christina Merrill - Farmingdale State - Jr. - M
Renee Schultz - Mount Saint Mary - Fr. - M
Jennifer Kupfer - Old Westbury - Sr. - B
Lindsey Oro - Mount Saint Mary - Jr. - B
Allison Pirone - Old Westbury - Jr. - B
Michelle Gulino - St. Joseph's-L.I. - Sr. - GK
Amanda Maass - Farmingdale State - Sr. - GK

Player of the Year: Cassandra Esposito, Old Westbury
Rookie of the Year: Andrea Kiefer, Farmingdale State
Coach of the Year: Frank Martini, Mount Saint Mary
Skyline Championship MVP: Corine Magee, Farmingdale State
Team Sportsmanship Award: Mount Saint Mary