Rams to Face Williams in NCAA First Round

Rams to Face Williams in NCAA First Round

- Rams vs. Ephs on Saturday, November 10th at 1:30 p.m. -

Ticket Prices: $6 Adults, $3 All Others

Location: Mirrione Stadium                 Directions to Wheaton

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Committee announced Monday the field of 64 teams for the 2012 NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Championship.

The Farmingdale State women's soccer team will travel to Wheaton College in Norton, Mass., who will be hosting First and Second round games. The Rams will face #9 Williams College in the First Round on Saturday, November 10th at 1:30 p.m. #25 Wheaton will face Westfield State in the opening First Round game at 11:00 a.m. Winners will square off on Sunday, November 11th at 1:00 p.m. in the Second Round.

The Rams (13-7) captured the Skyline Conference for the sixth consecutive season after defeating Mount Saint Mary College, 3-1, in the Championship game.

Williams (12-3-2), a member of the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC), defeated Bowdoin in penalty kicks to earn the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Host school Wheaton (16-1-6) fell on penalty kicks at Springfield in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Finals. The Lyons joined the NCAA Tournament field after earning an at-large bid.

Westfield State University (18-0-1) earned a bid to the NCAA's after defeating Bridgewater State, 2-0, in the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship (MASCAC) game.

Forty-three conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2012 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, Nov. 9-10 or 10-11.  Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites Nov. 16-17 or 17-18.  All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals Nov. 30-Dec. 1, at Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas.


To view the complete bracket, click HERE.