Women's Soccer Tallies Nine All-Conference Selections; Lyons, Ford Named Players of the Year

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference's 10 women's soccer head coaches have voted on their 2018 All-Conference selections and the Farmingdale State duo of junior midfielder Tara Lyons (Wantagh, N.Y.) and junior goalkeeper Daniella Ford (Elmont, N.Y.) have earned Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year honors, respectively.

Along with Lyons and Ford, freshman forward Julissa Martinez (Brentwood, N.Y.), senior midfielder Allison Khare (Deer Park, N.Y.) and senior defenders Erin Purack (Farmingdale, N.Y.) and Alyssa Gaynor (East Northport, N.Y.) were each named First Team All-Conference, while senior forward Alyssa Parrotta (Centereach, N.Y.), sophomore midfielder Meagan Murdocco (North Babylon, N.Y.) and senior defender Jordan Martin (Lecanto, Fla.) were tabbed to the Second Team.

Lyons ranks second on the team in goals (8), assists (6) and points (22) this season. She leads an FSC offense that is ranked fourth in the Nation for assists, 10th in points and 25th for scoring offense (3.23). 

Ford owns a 0.58 goals against average this year and holds the single-season school record for wins by a goalkeeper with 16. She has 13 total shutouts (eight solo) and has recorded 83 saves (.874 save percentage) on the year. Ford led the Skyline in GAA, goals allowed, shutouts and save percentage. In the NCAA, she is fourth for goalie minutes played and 37th in both GAA and save percentage.

Martinez leads the team in goals (9), game-winning scores (3) and penalty kick goals (1-for-1) and is fourth in points (19). In the Skyline, she ranked third for game-winning goals, sixth in goals scored and seventh in points per game.

Khare appeared in every game this season and leads FSC in points (23), assists (7) and game-winning goals (3) and ranks second in goals (8). In the conference, she ranked third for game-winning goals and fifth in assists.

Purack has started every game and helped an FSC defense that is ranked 24th in the Nation in shutout percentage. She added one assist from her defensive position.

Gaynor, a team captain, started all 22 games and anchors the Skyline's top ranked defense which is 31st in the Nation for goals allowed. 

Parrotta is second on the team in goals (8), third in points (20) and fifth for assists (4). She scored the game-winning goal in the 1-0 victory over #19 Swarthmore and tallied both scores in the 2-1 win over Mount Saint Mary in the regular season finale.

In her first season at FSC, Murdocco has appeared in 20-of-22 games and ranks second in goals scored with eight. She is currently ranked fifth on the team in points with 18.

Martin helped hold a pair of top-25 teams (#3 Williams & #19 Swarthmore) to just one goal combined. She also recorded the game-winning goal with just 26 seconds left in the 2-1 win over Trinity (Conn.).


2018 Skyline Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team

Christina Gagliardi, F, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Julissa Martinez, F, Farmingdale State
Kiley Ritter, F, Sarah Lawrence (Fr.; Los Angeles, Calif.)
Deserae Sequeira, F, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Cristina Britton, M, Mount Saint Vincent
Chrissy Cannella, M, Mount Saint Mary
Allison Khare, M, Farmingdale State
Tara Lyons, M, Farmingdale State
Sophia Spralja, M, Sarah Lawrence
Brittany Bornstad, B, Mount Saint Mary
Samantha Caruso, B, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Alyssa Gaynor, B, Farmingdale State
Erin Purack, B, Farmingdale State
Daniella Ford, G, Farmingdale State
Cammie Havens, G, Maritime

Second Team

Julia DeSantis, F, Mount Saint Mary
Tiffany McBrayer, F, Sarah Lawrence
Anisah Molic, F, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Alyssa Parrotta, F, Farmingdale State
Brianna Williams, F, Old Westbury
Carly Credidio, M, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Meagan Murdocco, M, Farmingdale State
Rachel Rocha, M, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Madison Schultz, M, Mount Saint Vincent
Lauren Ashby, B, Sarah Lawrence
Grace Barry, B, Mount Saint Vincent
Emma Costa, B, Mount Saint Mary
Jordan Martin, B, Farmingdale State
Juliana Cintron-Leonardo, G, St. Joseph's-Long Island

Offensive Player of the Year: Tara Lyons, Farmingdale State
Defensive Player of the Year: Daniella Ford, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Kiley Ritter, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Maurizio Grillo, Sarah Lawrence (second season)